Have you been Injuried by an Uninsured Driver?
Did you know that in Harris County, Tx around 15% of drivers are uninsured? This area in Houston, Tx is actually one of the top 10 areas with highest percent of uninsured drivers. Texas is ranked 16th in America for most uninsured motorists. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, it is never your fault. This is because Texas is a “no-fault” state, meaning that drivers without insurance are always responsible for the accident, because they should not be on the road.
What is a “No-Fault” State?
What is a no-fault state? According to Coverage.com: “No-Fault” means that drivers have insurance to cover their own injuries and damage rather than insuring to pay out to the other person. In most no-fault states, drivers are required to have personal injury protection coverage as part of their auto insurance policy.
The rules surrounding auto accident lawsuits in no-fault states are strict. These rules are known as threshold conditions and relate to the severity of the injury sustained in the auto accident. Alternatively, fault or tort states assign responsibility for the accident.
Whoever is at fault is also responsible for the damages caused by the accident.
What is the Penalty for driving without insurance in Houston?
The biggest penalty for driving without insurance occurs if you get in an accident. Since Houston is “no-fault”, the accident could be another drivers fault and you are still to blame. This is because without insurance, you shouldn’t be driving on the road in the first place. Aside from accidents, what is the penalty for driving uninsured in Houston? First-time offenders will, by law, be cited and fined between $175 and $350. Additionally, a surcharge of $250 will be added to your annual driver’s license fee for each of the next three years. Added up, getting caught driving without insurance in Texas the first time will end up costing you between $925 and $1100.
Can you go to jail for not having car insurance in Houston?
Well, you technically cannot go to jail for driving without insurance in Houston but if you are involved in an accident then you will be held liable for the damage and you may receive other charges.
Hit by an Uninsured Driver in Houston?
If you or a family member has been involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, you need to call our law office right away. Texas is a “no-fault” state and you are never liable for an accident involving a person without auto insurance.